University of Maine

The University of Maine is situated in Orono, Maine, United States. This is a public research university that was founded in 1865 as a land grant college and is referred to as the Flagship University of the University of Maine System. UMaine is the largest university in the state and is the only institution in Maine categorized as a research university by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. For those who desire to do higher education in USA, this university will be the best choice to make to meet all their desires.

By 1871, curricula had been prepared in Agriculture, Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and electives. The Maine Agricultural and Forest Experiment Station was established as a division of the university in 1887. Gradually the university developed the Colleges of Life Sciences and Agriculture, Engineering and Science, and Arts and Sciences. In 1912 the Maine Cooperative Extension, which offers field educational programs for both adults and youths, was initiated. Near the end of the 19th century, the curriculum was expanded to place greater emphasis on liberal arts. As a function of this shift in focus new faculty hired during the early 20th century included Caroline Colvin, chair of the history department, and the first woman in the nation to head a major university department.