University of Kentucky

The University of Kentucky is situated in Lexington, Kentucky. This University is a public co-educational university and is one of the state's two land-grant universities. Established in 1865 by John Bowman as the Agricultural and Mechanical College of Kentucky, this university is the largest in the Commonwealth of Kentucky by enrollment, with 27,171 students, and is also the highest ranked research university in the state, according to U.S. News and World Report. Education in USA is preferred by most of the students to do their higher education since the opportunities available is much more higher compared to the other universities.
This university is home to 16 colleges, a graduate school, 93 undergraduate programs, 99 master programs, 66 doctoral programs, and four professional programs. This university has fifteen libraries on campus. The largest is William T. Young Library, a federal depository, hosting subjects related to social sciences, humanities and life sciences collections.

In the recent times, the university has focused expenditures increasingly on research, subsequent to a compact formed by the Kentucky General Assembly in 1997. The directive consented that the university become a Top 20 public research institution, in terms of an overall ranking to be determined by the university itself, by the year 2020.