Purdue University

Purdue University is located in West Lafayette, Indiana, U.S. It is known to be the flagship University of the six-campus Purdue University System. The University was founded on May 6, 1869 by Lafayette businessman, John Purdue. It was started as a land-grant University. It offers both undergraduate and graduate programs that have 210 areas of study. Education in US is highly regarded and so is this university which is well-known for its flight training program due to the foundation of this University. The University offered the flight training, the first four-year bachelor's degree in aviation. Most of the students of the University are from Indiana. This University is home to 18 Division I/I-A NCAA teams including football, basketball, cross country, tennis, wrestling, golf, volleyball and others. The University is a founding member of the Big Ten Conference and it has played a central role in its creation. The University's faculty comprises of sixty Academic Deans, Associate Deans, and Assistant Deans, 63 Academic Department Heads, 753 Professors, 547 Associate Professors and 447 Assistant Professors. The University is known for producing 22 astronauts which includes Gus Grissom, the first vertically launched person to return to space, Neil Armstrong, the first to walk on the moon, and Eugene Cernan, the most recent astronaut to do so.