Johns Hopkins University

The Johns Hopkins University, commonly referred to as Johns Hopkins, JHU, is a private research university present in Baltimore, Maryland, United States. Johns Hopkins University has campuses in Maryland; Washington, D.C. Italy; China and Singapore.

The university was established on January 22, 1876 and named for its benefactor, the philanthropist Johns Hopkins. Daniel Coit Gilman was inaugurated as first president of this university in 1876.

Johns Hopkins pioneered the concept of the modern research university in the United States and has ranked amongst the world's top such universities throughout its history. The National Science Foundation (NSF) has ranked Johns Hopkins the number 1 amongst U.S. academic institutions in total science, medical and engineering research and development spending for 31 consecutive years. As of 2011, thirty-seven Nobel Prize winners have been affiliated with Johns Hopkins, and the university's research is among the most cited in the world.

The original board opted for an entirely novel university model dedicated to the discovery of knowledge at an advanced level, extending that of contemporary Germany. Johns Hopkins thereby became the model of the modern research university in the United States. Its success eventually shifted higher education in the USA from a focus on teaching revealed and/or applied knowledge to the scientific discovery of new knowledge.