University of Manchester

The University of Manchester is situated in Manchester, United Kingdom. This is a public research university was established in the year 2004 by the union of the Victoria University of Manchester and the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology. This university is a member of the Russell Group of research-intensive British universities, the N8 Group and a “red brick” university.

This university has over 39000 students and 10400 staff, and this makes it the single-site university in the whole of United Kingdom. More and more students attempt to gain entry to this university when compared to any other university in the UK, with over 60000 applications for undergraduate courses alone. Education in UK is highly reputed and so is this university since it is offering good education to the students ever since it was founded.

This university had a total income of £808.6 million in the academic year 2010-2011 of which £196.2 million came from research grants and contracts. This university and its ancestor institutions have around 25 Nobel Laureates amongst their past and present students and staff. Four Nobel laureates are presently among its staff namely Sir Andre Geim, Sir Kostya Novoselov, Sir John Sulston and Joseph Stiglitz.