Queen’s University Belfast

Queen’s University Belfast is situated in Belfast, Northern Ireland. This public research university’s official title is the Queen’s University of Belfast. This university is often referred to Queen’s or by the abbreviation QUB. This university was chartered in the year 1845 as “Queen’s college, Belfast”, but it dates back to 1810 when it was called as Royal Belfast Academic Institution.

This university is a member of the Russell Group of primary research intensive universities, the European University Association, the Association of Commonwealth Universities, Universities UK and Universities Ireland. This university provides academic degrees at different levels and across a wide range of subjects, with more than 300 degree programmes available. The current President and Vice-Chancellor of this university is Professor Sir Peter Gregson. This university also forms the center of the Queen’s Quarter area of the city, which is considered to be one among the 7 cultural districts in Belfast.

Education in UK is highly regarded and so is this university. This university has a main campus that is present not far from the centre of Belfast and also has two linked university colleges, St Mary’s and Stranmillis, both situated in Belfast. Even though these colleges offer a wide range of degree courses, they mainly offer training for students who wish to enter the teaching profession.