Time zone in United Kingdom

The Western European time or the very common Greenwich Mean Time is the time zone used by the United Kingdom. The British Summer Time also known as the Western European Summer Time uses the time zone (UTC +01:00).

Local mean time is the standard time in the United Kingdom islands and the Greenwich Mean Time and Dublin Mean Time gradually came to be accepted as the standard of railway time-tabling which area not in use anymore. The Statues Act was officially adopted and later Ireland adopted Greenwich Mean Time.

Summer Time Act, 1916 introduced Daylight saving time and was implemented in the same year. The Order in Council decided that the length of DST could be extended, and was extended for the duration of World War I. For 1916, DST extended from 21 May to 1 October, with transitions at 2:00 standard time.

The beginning of the 20th century saw Sandringham Time as being used by the royal household. King Edward VIII halted this practice in an effort to reduce confusions over time.

The United Kingdom has operated a total of 7 time zones since 1997 in addition to the GMT and the Hong Kong Handover, covering the regions over Mediterranean and Caribbean Seas and South Atlantic, Pacific, Indian and Southern Ocean.