University of Ottawa

The University of Ottawa is a research-intensive, bilingual, international university located in Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. This university is one among the oldest universities in Canada. It was initially established as the College of Bytown in the year 1848 by the Missionary Oblates of Mary Immaculate. This university was previously a liberal arts college. It has been teaching pure and applied sciences in both French and English in the 19th century. This institution received university status in the year 1866 and in the year 1889, it was announced to be a pontifical university by Pope Leo XIII. This university has been presenting Bachelor's degrees since 1872, Master's degrees since 1875, and Doctorates since 1888.

Saint Paul University is associated with this university and is also situated in the city of Ottawa. The University of Ottawa is ranked fifth in research-intensity and ninth in total research funding in Canada. This university is a member of the U15, a group of the most research-intensive universities in the country. The University of Ottawa is known for its areas of studies in Sciences, Medicine, Political Science, Law and International Affairs. Study in Canada is always highly regarded by the international students and so is this university.