University of Technology, Sydney

The University of Technology, Sydney is situated in Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. This university was established in the 1870s. This university is prominent for its central location as the only university with its foremost campuses within the Sydney CBD. This university is a part of the Australian Technology Network of universities and includes the 5th largest enrollment in Sydney. Study in Australia is considered high these days and so is this university. The University of Technology, Sydney was ranked 234th in the Top 500 universities in the world by the Times HES [2008] and was one among the two Australian Universities that was offered with A1 ratings across all key disciplines in the year 2007 and 2008 by Federal Government Education department.

The present day university began from the Sydney Mechanic's School of Arts [SMSA]. The SMSA formed the Workingman's College in the 1870s which was later taken into control by the NSW government to form the Sydney Technical College in the year, 1878. A part of the Sydney Technical College turned out to be the New South Wales Institute of Technology [NSWIT] in the year 1969.

In 1988, it was then reconstituted as the University of Technology, Sydney, under an Act of NSW State Parliament.