University of New England

The main campus of University of New England is situated in the city of Armidale in northern New South Wales. This university is said to have 18000 higher education students. This was the first Australian university that was founded outside a state capital city. Every year, this university provides more than $2.5 million in scholarships, prizes and bursaries for students and over $18 million for staff and students who are involved in research. Education in Australia is highly renowned and so is this university.

This university was established in the year 1938 as the New England University College. It was a college of the University of Sydney. It then became fully self-governing in the year 1954. This university has undergone 2 major changes from the year 1989. The University of New England Act, 1989, formed a network University that consisted of a campus at Armidale, integrating the previous University of New England and the previous Armidale College of Advanced Education and a campus at Lismore, integrating the previous Northern Rivers College of Advanced Education. The very next year, the Orange Agricultural College united with the network university. This network also consisted of the UNE-Coffs Harbour Centre, that offered courses from within academic departments of Lismore and Armidale campuses.