The University of Western Australia

The University of Western Australia was instituted by an Act of the Western Australian Parliament in the year 1911 and it started to teach students from the year 1913. It is the oldest university in Western Australia and is also the only university in the state to be an associate of the Group of Eight, and the sandstone universities. The Western Australian Act offers for management and control by the Senate of the university and also provides it with the authority, to create statutes and regulations. The University of Western Australia is one among the prestigious and prominent universities in Australia. This university is ranked highly in various publications like the 2011 QS World University Rankings wherein it was placed in the 73rd place, worldwide. Study in Australia has its own reputation and so is this university.

This university has created near to 100 Rhodes Scholars and a Nobel Prize winner. The University of Western Australia joined the Matariki Network of Universities as the youngest member, very recently.

The main campus of this university was situated on Irwin Street in the centre of Perth, and had numerous buildings in between the Hay Street and St Georges Terrace. Irwin Street was also called as "Tin Pan Alley" since most of the buildings had a corrugated iron covering. These buildings were the campus of this university till the year 1932, when the campus was moved to Crawley, where it is present now.