The University of Queensland

The University of Queensland is situated in the state of Queensland of Australia. This university was founded in the year 1909, and is the largest and oldest university in the whole of Queensland and the 5th oldest in Australia. The main campus of this university is situated in the suburb of St Lucia, the southwest part of Brisbane City Central Business District, while the other chief campuses are present in Ipswich, Gatton and Herston. Education in Australia is to some extent cheaper when considered to other countries and so most international students prefer to come here. This university is a member of the Group of Eight in Australia and the worldwide research-intensive universities network, Universitas 21. This university is known as a sandstone university, informally, and is ranked amongst the top universities in the whole of Australia and the top 1percent in the world.

This university was established by the Queensland Parliament in order to celebrate the 50th anniversary of Queensland's freedom from New South Wales. The first classes of this university were held in the year 1911with 83 students as the beginners and Sir William MacGregor being the first chancellor. World War I became the reason for the delay of the development of this university; however the World War I, the number of people who wished to enroll in this university got increased mainly because of the higher education demand in the country.