The University of Newcastle

The University of Newcastle was founded in the year 1965. The main campus of this university is located in Callaghan, a suburb of Newcastle in New South Wales. It is also the largest campus of this university. This university also possesses campuses in Port Macquarie, Ourimbah, Singapore and Sydney CBD.

This university has got more than 15256 full time students and 15080 part time students. Education in Australia is preferred by most of the overseas students and so is this university.

The University of Newcastle Medical School has put into practice the Problem-based learning system for the undergraduate Bachelor of Medicine programme, a system that was later commanded for use by the Australian Medical Council all through Australia. This university also launched the Undergraduate Medicine and Health Sciences Admission Test in 1990s. UMAT from then on, has been recognized extensively by various medical schools across Australia as additional selection criteria. This university is a member of The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business and Innovative Research Universities Australia. This university has around 30300 students, of which 6773 are international students who come to study here from over 115 countries.

This university is acknowledged for its dedication to equity in education and time after time enrolls more Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders than any other university in Australia.