The University of Melbourne

The University of Melbourne is situated in Melbourne, Victoria. This university was founded in the year 1853. This university is the second oldest university in the whole of Australia and the oldest one in Victoria. The main campus of this university is situated in Parkville, a suburb on the northern part of the Melbourne CBD. This university also includes various other campuses situated across Victoria. This university is a member of Australia's "Group of Eight", Association of Pacific Rim Universities networks and the Universitas 21.
It is informally known as a sandstone university. This university consists of one of the largest financial endowments of any Australian university, which accounts to $1.173 billion as of the year 2010. Study in Australia is as popular as in this university and so students from various parts of the world come here to pursue their studies.

This university ranks amongst the best universities in Australia and in the world, particularly in the biological and health sciences. The University of Melbourne was ranked at the top in Australia and 37th in the world by the Times Higher Education 2011-2012 rankings of the top 400 universities in the world.

This university is the 2nd largest research organization subsequent to the CSIRO. In the year 2010, this university spent around $767.5 million on research and has ranked first or second time after time on chief national research indicators that are utilized by the government of Australia to allot public funds for research and training infrastructure.