The Australian National University

The Australian National University is located in Canberra, the capital city of Australia. According to the Federal Act of Parliament in 1946, this is the only University in the whole of Australia to be established by the Commonwealth, as opposed to a State or Territory legislature. This university includes 7 teaching and research colleges, 3 postgraduate research centres and 3 more non-tertiary educational entities. This university also hosts the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia, Australian National Centre for the Public Awareness of Science and National Computational Infrastructure facility.

In the year 2011, The Australian National University was ranked 1st and 2nd amongst other Australian universities and 26th and 38th amongst the universities in the world by the QS World University Ranking and the Times Higher Education World University Rankings. This university is a member of various university coalitions and supportive networks, such as the Group of Eight, the Association of Pacific Rim Universities, the International Alliance of Research Universities and the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy.

Two Prime Ministers of Australia attended this university and this university also counts 6 Nobel laureates amidst its staff and alumni.

Study in Australia is preferred by most of the students worldwide. This university has 3,681 staff out of 1,506 are academic staffs who teach about 8,688 undergraduate students and 4,752 postgraduate students.