Edith Cowan University

Edith Cowan University is situated in Perth, Western Australia. This university was named after Edith Cowan, the first woman to be elected to the Australian Parliament. This university is the only Australian University that is named after a woman.

This university is the second largest university in Western Australia with about 20000 students at undergraduate and postgraduate level, of which 4000 are international students who originate from more than 90 countries. Education in Australia is chosen by most international students and so is this university.

This university was granted with the university status in the year 1991 and was structured from a merger of teachers' colleges in 1902 when the Claremont Teachers College was founded. This made the university to become the modern successor of the first institution of higher education in Western Australia.

This university provides over 400 courses across 2 metropolitan campuses, in Joondalup and Mount Lawley and a regional campus in the South West, Bunbury, which is 200km south of Perth, with some courses offered for study-off campus [Distance Education]. In addition, this university has collaborations with numerous education institutions to conduct programs and courses offshore. This university is the largest provider of Psychology and Community Studies courses in the whole of Western Australia. The Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts was acknowledged as one of the esteemed performing arts and training academies.